Emerging Leaders Program

Our Emerging Leaders Program provides a unique year of leadership focused experiences and activities designed to develop and inspire emerging leaders in Local Government in Victoria.

The program is based on an experiential learning model and provides extensive interaction among participants to develop key leadership and collaboration skills.

2020 ELP participants

LGPro is proud to announce the successful nominees in our 2020 Emerging Leaders Program. Congratulations to the successful applicants and we look forward to providing you with this opportunity to enhance your career.

Richie Evans  Glen Eira City Council
Dale Gilliatte  Baw Baw Shire Council
Angela Peresso  Casey City Council
Jason Kane  Mildura Rural City Council
Dean Frank  Macedon Ranges Shire Council
David Fice  Mornington Peninsula Shire
Kate Deppeler  Pyrenees Shire Council
Michael Pogemiller  Darebin City Council
Rachael Frampton  Greater Shepparton City Council
Samantha Murfett  South Gippsland Shire Council
Sian Gleeson  Banyule City Council
Dirk Cummins  Port Phillip City Council
Casey Southurst  Murrindindi Shire Council
Malcolm Roberts-Palmer  Maribyrnong City Council
Ryan Hood  Whitehorse City Council
Hiren Bhatt  Moreland City Council
Clare Cowdery  Rural City of Wangaratta
Noel Davey  The City of Monash
Chris Peckett  Bass Coast Shire Council
Michelle Stedman  Greater Bendigo City Council
Jessica Salehian  Kingston City Council
James Robinson  Frankston City Council
Rebecca Pedretti  Hepburn Shire Council
Lisa Balaban  Yarra Ranges Council
Jack Chittenden  Greater Dandenong City Council

About the program

Twenty four positions are available each year to current leaders, officers who aspire to positions of leadership, and to those who aspire to provide leadership in a particular area of interest in Local Government. 

Nominations open in October and the successful candidates are notified prior to Christmas. Participants in this program must be a financial LGPro Individual Member. 

Each year ELP participants are assigned a group project which they work on throughout the year and present their findings in both a report and at a session at the LGPro Annual Conference.

ELP graduates have formed a network that meets to provide a forum for peer support and to promote professional development through a range of dedicated events and activities.

More information


For further information contact Suzana O'Callaghan at suzanao@lgpro.com or phone (03) 9268 6401

LGPro isproud to be partnering with Rural Councils Victoria (RCV) to support their Building Local Capacity Program. Funding is available for 30% of the registration fees for this program for participants from RCV Member Councils.


I saw ELP as a way to further develop my leadership skills and build networks with my Local Government colleagues. I gained more confidence in myself as a leader - the belief that I can take on leadership roles and strong networks with local government colleagues. - Hannah Rowlands, Communications Coordinator, Whitehorse Council