Awards for Excellence

The LGPro Awards for Excellence promote and celebrate the outstanding work undertaken and delivered by individuals and teams working in Victorian Councils.

2019 Awards for Excellence

Innovative Management Initiative
Casey City Council, Simply Brilliant Internal Communications Campaign

Glen Eira City Council, imagination@work
Gannawarra Shire Council, Gannawarra Shared Services

Service Delivery Initiative
Glen Eira City Council, Digitising high priority transactions
Maribyrnong City Council, Risk Based Assessment Application Process for New Food Businesses
Mitchell Shire Council, Robotics Community Program

Special Projects Initiative
Banyule City Council, Homefront Project
Casey City Council, Casey Sings
Greater Shepparton City Council, Shepp Square
Maroondah City Council, BizHub Coworking Space

Community Partnerships Initiative
Greater Bendigo City Council, CityStudio
Maroondah City Council, Maroondah Hoarding and Squalor Network
Warrnambool City Council, Beers + Ideas
Whittlesea City Council, Whittlesea 2040 Vision Development

Community Assets and Infrastructure Initiative $2m and under
Ganawarra Shire Council, Kerang CBD Upgrade
Ballarat City Council, City Oval Redevelopment
Maribyrnong City Council, Braybrook Park Playspace
Maroondah City Council, Ringwood Lake Park Playspace
Melton City Council, Bridge Road Regional Play Space

Community Assets and Infrastructure Initiative over $2m
Casey City Council, Bunjil Place
Hobsons Bay City Council, Activating the Western Section of Altona Beach
Melton City Council, Pride of Melton
Mildura Rural City Council, Mildura Riverfront Stage 1 Development

Sustainability Initiative
Gannawarra Shire Council, Sustainable Gannawarra
Melbourne City Council, Melbourne Renewable Energy Project
Surf Coast Shire Council, Plastic Wise Policy for Events and Markets
Wyndham City Council, Wyndham Solar City

Diversity and Inclusion
Ballarat City Council, Gender Equity Strategy and Action Plan
Ballarat City Council, Active Women and Girls Strategy
Bayside City Council, Bluff Road Estate Community Engagement Project
Maribyrnong City Council, Bandmates Victoria
Melton City Council, Interfaith Strategy
Moyne Shire Council, Early Years Kindergarten Inclusion of Anaphylaxis Children

Indigenous Community Partnership
Casey City Council, The Strong Culture; Good Health School Holiday Program
Darebin City Council, Darebin Aboriginal Maternal Child and Health Initiative
Glen Eira City Council, Relationships for Reconciliation Partnership Initiative
Horsham Rural City Council, Horsham Rural City Council Reconciliation Action Plan
Wyndham City Council, Wyndham Aboriginal Community Centre and Integrated Family Centre

Young Achiever

Matthew Swards, Ballarat City Council
Sarah Lyons, Casey City Council
Sara Merkus, Casey City Council
Kate Eichler, Maribyrnong City Council
Abby McCarthy, Knox City Council
Bryony Davies, Knox City Council
Samantha Bender, Mitchell Shire Council
Arvind Kolluru, Yarra City Council

Award categories

We have added a new category, Indigenous Community Partnership, to the 2019 awards. This takes the number of award categories to 10:

  • Community Assets and Infrastructure Initiative ($2 million and under)
  • Community Assets and Infrastructure Initiative (over $2 million)
  • Innovative Management Initiative
  • Community Partnerships Initiative
  • Diversity & Inclusion
  • Service Delivery Initiative
  • Specials Projects Initiative
  • Sustainability Initiative
  • Young Achiever
  • Indigenous Community Partnership Initiative (NEW)

Proud Sponsors of the LGPro Awards for Excellence

Get the recognition you deserve

See what past winners say about the awards in the video below!

2018 winners

Congratulations to the 2018 Award winners & finalists who were acknowledged at out Annual Conference in February 2018.