Awards for Excellence



About the awards

The LGPro Awards for Excellence promote and celebrate the outstanding work being undertaken and delivered by individuals and teams working in Local Government in Victoria. Nominations for the 2024 Awards are now closed.

Award recipients will be announced at an awards ceremony to be held at the 2024 Annual Conference Awards Dinner to be held on Thursday 2 May at Melbourne Cricket Ground.

The Awards span 11 award categories including the small rural council award category, introduced in 2021 in recognition of the resource challenges faced by these smaller organisations.

Categories include:

  • First Nations Community Partnership Initiative
  • Innovative Management Initiative
  • Service Delivery Initiative
  • Special Projects Initiative
  • Community Partnerships Initiative
  • Community Assets & Infrastructure Initiative (projects $5m and under)
  • Community Assets & Infrastructure Initiative (projects over $5m)
  • Sustainability Initiative
  • Diversity and Inclusion
  • Young Achiever
  • Outstanding Small Rural Council Initiative

Congratulations to the following finalist Councils in the 2024 Awards for Excellence:

Banyule City Council
Bass Coast Shire Council
Baw Baw Shire Council
Bayside City Council
Boroondara City Council, Access Health and Community and Manningham City Council
Brimbank City Council
Buloke Shire Council
Campaspe Shire Council
Casey City Council
East Gippsland Shire Council
Frankston, Casey City Councils, healthAbility, Nairm Marr Djambana, Uncle Shane Charles & Aunty Deborah Mellett
Glen Eira City Council
Golden Plains Shire Council
Greater Bendigo City Council
Greater Dandenong City Council
Greater Geelong City Council
Hobson’s Bay City Council
Indigo Shire Council
Kingston City Council
Latrobe City Council
Loddon Shire Council
Macedon Ranges Shire Council
Maribyrnong City Council
Maroondah City Council
Mildura Rural City Council
Mornington Peninsular Shire
Port Phillip City Council
Whittlesea City Council
Yarra City Council
Yarra Ranges Council



2023 Awards for Excellence Yearbook

Read about 2023's award winners, high commendations and finalists in the 2023 Awards for Excellence Yearbook.

Register online below

Skip to search results
We are currently working on the program for the next Annual Conference, stay tuned!