Executive Leadership Program

The Executive Leadership Program is designed exclusively to equip and support senior executives in Local Government, particularly Chief Executive Officers and Directors, to expand and develop their skills and knowledge to assist them to become confident and capable leaders in the sector.

About the program

The program content has been developed for and by senior executives to ensure it addresses the particular nature and challenges of leadership in Local Government. It was informed by the results of an LGPro CEO Development Survey undertaken by an independent research organisation to examine the behaviours and attitudes of current and former Local Government CEOs and potential CEOs and to determine the skills, traits, knowledge and experience required to be a successful Local Government executive.

Nominations for the 2019 XLP program are now open and close on Friday 9 November. Nominations will only be accepted online.


2018 Executive Leadership Program Participants

2018 XLP participants

Sheena Frost, Casey City Council
Warren Groves, Northern Grampians Shire
Graeme Harrison, Horsham Rural City Council
John Hausler, Macedon Ranges Shire
Nigel Higgins, Maribyrnong City Council
Angela Hughes, Monash City Council
Elizabeth Hunter, Melton City Council
Anthony Judd, Buloke Shire
Simon Kinsey, Whitehorse City Council
Lisa Knight, Mount Alexander Shire
Samantha Krull, Glen Eira City Council
Errol Lawrence, Colac Otway Shire
Stuart McConnell, Murrindindi Shire
Kevin O'Brien, Horsham Rural City Council
Bernie O'Sullivan, Greater Bendigo City Council 
Gerardine O'Sullivan, Boroondara City Council
Faith Page, South Gippsland Shire
Jenny Scicluna, Cardinia Shire
Gareth Smith, Colac Otway Shire
Joseph Tabacco, Banyule City Council
Dalene Voigt, Indigo Shire Council
Jane Waldock, Yarra City Council
Brett Walters, Port Phillip City Council 
Marnie Williams, Mornington Peninsula Shire

More information

   2019 Brochure

  Victorian Council Classifications

  Sample Nomination Form 

For further information contact Leanne Bickley at leanneb@lgpro.com or phone (03) 9268 6401