Emerging Leaders Program

Our Emerging Leaders Program provides a unique year of leadership focused experiences and activities designed to develop and inspire emerging leaders in Local Government in Victoria.

The program is based on an experiential learning model and provides extensive interaction among participants to develop key leadership and collaboration skills.

About the program

Twenty four positions are available each year to current leaders, officers who aspire to positions of leadership, and to those who aspire to provide leadership in a particular area of interest in Local Government. 

Nominations will open in October this year and the successful candidates are notified prior to Christmas. Participants in this program must be a financial LGPro Individual Member. 

Each year ELP participants are assigned a group project which they work on throughout the year and present their findings in both a report and at a session at the LGPro Annual Conference.

ELP graduates have formed a network that meets to provide a forum for peer support and to promote professional development through a range of dedicated events and activities.

Nominations for the 2019 ELP program are now open and close on Friday 9 November. Nominations will only be accepted online.


2018 ELP Participants

2018 ELP participants

Debbie Allum, Kingston City Council
Zoe Blakeney, Murrindindi Shire Council
John Ciavarella, Ballarat City Council
Georgie Christopher, Monash City Council
Jodie Cosham, Wellington Shire Council
Ben Devanny, Greater Bendigo City Council
Karen Dunstan, Macedon Ranges Shire
Mel Elkin, Monash City Council
Kim Fitzgerald, Moira Shire Council
Tori Hayat, Glen Eira City Council
Aaron Huttig, Mildura Rural City Council
Mel Jeffery, Maroondah City Council
Anita Johnstone, Port Phillip City Council
Ram Kamalanandan, Mornington Peninsula Shire
Ellen Kessler, Brimbank City Council
Karen Milner, Mildura Rural City Council
Shayne Price, Whitehorse City Council
Jessica Sayers, Banyule City Council
Kate Shearer, Moreland City Council
Mark Stahel, Mornington Peninsula Shire
Ben Thomas, Rural City of Wangaratta
Danielle Thompson, South Gippsland Shire
Michelle Tipton, Frankston City Council
Paula Yorston, Loddon Shire Council

More information

  2019 Brochure

  Sample Nomination Form

  Victorian Council Classifications

For further information contact Leanne Bickley at leanneb@lgpro.com or phone (03) 9268 6401