Regional Programs

Regional Programs in 2020

Caretaker Period Workshop Series

Warrnambool City Council          Tue 11 February

Horsham Rural City Council        Wed 12 February

Greater Bendigo City Council      Thu 13 February

Latrobe City Council                      Tue 25 February

Wangaratta Rural City Council   Wed 26 February

Colac Otway Shire Council           Thu 12 March

Hepburn Shire Council                  Tue 24 March

Mildura Rural City Council           Tue 31 March

Local Government Report Writing
Loddon Shire Council                      Tue 28 April

Induction to Local Government

Latrobe City Council                                   Tue 11 February

Wangaratta Rural City Council                Thu 27 February

Greater Bendigo City Council                   Tue 3 March

Warrnambool City Council                        Tue 21 April

Southern Grampians Shire Council        Tue 26 May

Greater Bendigo City Council                   Tue 11 August

Latrobe City Council                                    Tue 25 August

Wangaratta Rural City Council                 Thu 17 September

Warrnambool City Council                         Wed 21 October

Horsham Rural City Council                       Tue 24 November

Rural Councils Victoria and LGPro partnership to support leadership capability in rural Victoria


LGPro are proud to be partnering with Rural Councils Victoria (RCV) to support their Building Local Capacity Program.

Commissioned by LGV the KPMG Rural and Regional Councils Sustainability and Reform Program identifies a series of targeted reforms to enable rural and regional councils achieve long term sustainability.

Under the reform theme Stronger Local Governance the report identifies Building Local Capacity as a mechanism for achieving long term sustainability.

The Rural Councils Victoria (RCV) Building Local Capacity Program has been developed to address existing gaps in the workforce the workforce of member councils including at these levels:

  • Elected Officials (governance, leadership, decision making)
  • Officers (leadership and management, industry preparedness for new Local Government Act)

The BLC Program will reduce barriers of access to professional development and training by reducing the overall cost to both the council and the individual officer.

RCV anticipates the financial incentive for rural council officers and elected representatives to attend professional development opportunities will increase participation rates from rural councils. Consequently this may act as an incentive for some programs historically delivered in metropolitan Melbourne to be delivered within the regions – ultimately making them even more accessible.

Funding

Funding is available for 30% of the registration fees for a number of our leadership programs for participants from eligible councils. Click here to see if your council is a member of RCV and are eligible.

For further information, please contact Leanne Bickley, Manager Professional Development at leanneb@lgpro.com or on 9268 6401.